ISO 9001:2008 – Quality Management System

Why ISO 9001?

In today’s world quality has become an important aspect of products and services, including the quality maintained by the people and the processes used in the developing or delivering the product or service. Today quality of the product or service is the deciding factor about the success or failure of a product or service and that in turn become the deciding factor for the organization’s success and failure.

Quality of processes used at organization and their results, is and will always be a major competitive factor, if not the most important one. This means that organization needs a system that manages the quality of their processes and produces business benefits.

ISO 9001 fulfill the need of a Quality Management System that addresses the Quality needs of an organization and also help them in delivering tangible business benefits. It includes Eight Principles of Quality Management. These principles help organizations to focus in their organizational goals, systematic management approach and continuous process and performance improvements.

ISO 9001:2008 – Benefits

Benefits observed by different organizations are dependent on their needs and goals, some of the common benefits are

  • More focus on Organization Goals
  • Enforcement of the organizational policy and objectives
  • Proactive and systematic approach to handle changing market conditions
  • Continuous monitoring and improvement in the performance
  • Enchantment in the confidence of existing and potential customers
  • More satisfied customers
  • Marginal improvement in the consistency and stability of processes
  • Reduction in dependencies of results on people and more focus on processes
  • More focus on Error Prevention instead of error correction

ISO 9001:2008 – Eight Principles of Quality Management

  • Customer focus
  • Leadership
  • Involvement of people
  • Process approach
  • System approach to management
  • Continual improvement
  • Factual approach to decision making
  • Mutually beneficial supplier relationships

These principles are taken from ISO 9004:2008, Guidelines for performance improvements.

ISO 9001:2008 – Eight Sections of the Standard

  • Section 1: Scope
  • Section 2: Normative Reference
  • Section 3: Terms and definitions
  • Section 4: Quality Management System
  • Section 5: Management Responsibility
  • Section 6: Resource Management
  • Section 7: Product Realization
  • Section 8: Measurement, analysis and improvement

Get ISO 9001:2008 Certified

Following companies/organization can take ISO 9001:2008 and can be benefitted from the ISO 9001 standard

  • All companies or organizations irrespective of their size, type, domain or sector
  • Companies working towards stability, consistency and systemic improvements of their processes and systems
  • Companies expanding their horizon in national and international markets keeping a high quality of product and service delivery
  • Organizations focusing on reduction of waste and increased productivity
  • Organization willing to improve employee motivation, awareness, and morale

ISO 9001:2008 – Need of an Independent Auditor?

Quality always starts from home and only the employees of the organization can ensure that management system is working at its optimal capacity. However to audit and highlight the issues that might go unnoticed otherwise, there is a need on an Independent or Third Party Auditors. Independent Auditor can look at your processes, people, standards and methodologies and can highlight issues and improvement suggestions.

DQS Certification India Private Limited (a Delhi Quality Initiative for Corporate Excellence) provides the Certification specialists, who are highly Skilled and can provide you benefit of their vast experience of many years and diverse domains.

Please note: ISO 9001:2008 Certification is provided by the AFAQ AFNOR Groupe, France.